ComplianceOnline

Wage and Hour Law - California Style

Instructor: Vicki M. Lambert
Product ID: 703771
  • 27
  • April 2018
    Friday
  • 11:00 AM PDT | 02:00 PM EDT
    Duration: 90 Min

Live Online Training
April 27, Friday 11:00 AM PDT | 02:00 PM EDT | Duration: 90 Min

$179.00
One Dial-in One Attendee
$429.00
Group-Max. 10 Attendees/Location
(For Multiple Locations Contact Customer Care)
Super Deal - Get CD/USB Drive Free!

recorded version

$229.00
1x Person - Unlimited viewing for 6 Months
(For multiple locations contact Customer Care)
Recorded Link and Ref. material will be available in My CO Section 48 hrs after completion of Live training

Training CD / USB Drive

$299.00
One CD/USB is for usage in one location only.
(For multiple locations contact Customer Care)
CD/USB and Ref. material will be shipped within 15 business days after completion of Live training

Combo Offers

Live + Recorded Version

$349.00

Live + Training CD/USB

$399.00

Customer Care

Fax: +1-650-362-2367

Email: customercare@complianceonline.com

Read Frequently Asked Questions

This 90 minute California wage and hour compliance training will help you understand the complexities surrounding California wage and hour laws and how it affects the function of any payroll department or company that has employees in California.

Why Should You Attend:

It has been said that California has a style all its own. This is especially true in the area of employment law. With arguably the greatest amount of wage and hour laws on the books of any state, processing payroll and keeping in compliance with California requirements can be a complex situation. Issues involving overtime, mandatory sick leave, split shifts, call-backs, meals and meal periods, donning and doffing, travel time, local minimum wage and countless other potential snares and pitfalls await the unwary employer. If the payroll department fails to comply or commits the tiniest infraction, serious penalties can and do occur.

This 90-minute presentation will help attendees understand the complexities surrounding California wage and hour law compliance and how it affects the function of any payroll department or company that has employees in California. Participants will learn best practices to ensure accurate calculation of overtime pay, working hours reporting time pay, and split shift pay in California.

Learning Objectives:

By the end of this webinar the attendee will have:

  • Minimum Wage: *New rates for 2018* Know and understand the latest information
  • Gained knowledge of California and federal wage and hour law as it pertains to payroll preparation
  • An understanding of the proper calculation of overtime pay in California
  • Basic understanding of what is considered hours worked and how to handle issues such as working hours reporting time pay, split shift pay and meeting times in California
  • Gained knowledge of when an employee must be given a break or lunch and when an employer may dock for meal periods as well as when the state’s penalties for failure to do so will be invoked
  • Knowledge of the requirements for paying employees including pay frequencies permitted and methods allowed under state’s laws as well as requirements when an employee terminates
  • Basic understanding of what must be included on a paystub in California
  • Gained knowledge of California’s mandatory paid sick leave laws: New for 2015

Areas Covered in the Webinar:

  • Minimum Wage: *New rates for 2018 and beyond* for both state and locals
  • Wage orders: How to determine which of the 17 wages orders applies to your company?
  • Overtime: California has daily and weekly overtime and daily and weekly double time. Learn how to determine when it’s straight time, overtime or double time.
  • Alternative workweeks: Are your employees eligible to have alternative workweeks and are employers required to offer them?
  • New overtime rules for agricultural workers
  • How do credits for meals and lodging or tips affect the current minimum wage for the state?
  • On call pay: Does CA require it for all employees all the time?
  • Reporting or show up pay: does the employer owe wages to any employee for just showing up to work? Even if there is no work to be performed?
  • Split shifts: Is there a monetary requirement to pay the employee extra if they work a split shift?
  • Rules for compensating piece workers.
  • What are the requirements for posters and payday notices?
  • What must be included in the employee's paystub and what must be excluded?
  • What notices are required to be given to employees upon hire or if they are laid off or terminated. What if they go on leave of absence?
  • How often must employees be paid in CA? Does it apply to all categories of employees?
  • What methods are permitted to pay employees? Are there rules for direct deposit? Can employees be paid by payroll debit card?
  • What are the rules for paying out the final paycheck if an employee is terminated? Are they the same if the employee quits? How does either one affect the vacation time left on the books?
  • Are meal and rest periods required or left up to the employer's policies? If required what are the penalties if the employee does not receive his or her meal or rest period.
  • Recordkeeping requirements including required time card punches.
  • Permissible deductions from pay.
  • Mandatory Sick Leave Law
  • Local minimum wage and creditor garnishments—how to determine disposable pay

Who Will Benefit:

  • Payroll professionals
  • Human resources department
  • Accounting personnel
  • Business owners
  • Lawmakers
  • Attorneys
  • Any individual or entity that must deal with the complexities and technicalities of California wage and hour laws and compliance issues in the payroll process
Instructor Profile:
Vicki M. Lambert

Vicki M. Lambert
Payroll Authority and Instructor, The Payroll Advisor

Vicki M. Lambert, CPP, is President and Academic Director of The Payroll Advisor™, a firm specializing in payroll education and training. The company’s website www.thepayrolladvisor.com offers a payroll news service which keeps payroll professionals up-to-date on the latest rules and regulations.

With over 35 years of hands-on experience in all facets of payroll functions as well as over 20 years as a trainer and author, Ms. Lambert has become the most sought-after and respected voice in the practice and management of payroll issues. She has conducted open market training seminars on payroll issues across the United States that have been attended by executives and professionals from some of the most prestigious firms in business today.

A pioneer in electronic and online education, Ms. Lambert produces and presents payroll related audio seminars, webinars and webcasts for clients, APA chapters and business groups throughout the country. Ms. Lambert is an adjunct faculty member at Brandman University in Southern California and is the creator of and instructor for their Practical Payroll Online program, which is approved for recertification hours by the APA. She is also the Program Developer, Subject Matter Expert (SME), and Facilitator for the Certificate in Payroll Practice and Management Program offered by Cengage Learning / Ed2Go through hundreds of colleges and universities across the country.

Topic Background:

California can sometimes follow the federal rules too. This is especially true when it comes to the actual math needed to calculating overtime including the definition of regular rate of pay, workweek and workday. California is however, a sovereign state so it also has its own requirements for areas of wage and hour law that the federal law does not address including paycheck stub requirements and posting regulations, and the anti-theft wage law passed recently in the state. So the payroll professional processing payroll in California must be familiar with both the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and the California labor Law and know when which one takes priority. With all these different factors to contend with when processing California payrolls, the department must be very diligent for if it fails to comply or commits the tiniest infraction, serious penalties can and do occur.

Follow us :
Roadmap of California Medical Leaves

Refund Policy

Registrants may cancel up to two working days prior to the course start date and will receive a letter of credit to be used towards a future course up to one year from date of issuance. ComplianceOnline would process/provide refund if the Live Webinar has been cancelled. The attendee could choose between the recorded version of the webinar or refund for any cancelled webinar. Refunds will not be given to participants who do not show up for the webinar. On-Demand Recordings can be requested in exchange.

Webinar may be cancelled due to lack of enrolment or unavoidable factors. Registrants will be notified 24hours in advance if a cancellation occurs. Substitutions can happen any time.

If you have any concern about the content of the webinar and not satisfied please contact us at below email or by call mentioning your feedback for resolution of the matter.

We respect feedback/opinions of our customers which enables us to improve our products and services. To contact us please email customercare@complianceonline.com call +1-888-717-2436 (Toll Free).

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product! Write review

Best Sellers
You Recently Viewed
    Loading