2010 Baldrige National Quality Award Makes History with Seven Nominees

  • Date: November 25, 2010
  • Source: Admin
Webinar All Access Pass Subscription


Seven organizations were nominated to receive the nation’s highest presidential honor for performance excellence through innovation, improvement and visionary leadership - the 2010 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. The mission of the Baldrige Program is to enhance the competitiveness and performance of U.S. organizations. The award is not extended to particular products or services.
In the 23 year history of this award, this year is the first for three small businesses to be selected at the same time. This year also makes history with this being the first year with seven organizations being honored.
The 2010 Baldrige Award recipients with the category listing:
  1. MEDRAD, Warrendale, Pa. (manufacturing)
  2. Nestle Purina PetCare Co., St. Louis, Mo. (manufacturing)
  3. Freese and Nichols Inc., Fort Worth, Texas (small business)
  4. K&N Management, Austin, Texas (small business)
  5. Studer Group, Gulf Breeze, Fla. (small business)
  6. Advocate Good Samaritan Hospital, Downers Grove, Ill. (health care)
  7. Montgomery County Public Schools, Rockville, Md. (education)
Among the winners, MEDRAD is being awarded for the second time; the first selection was made in 2003, also in the manufacturing category.
Selection process
83 applications were received in total for the 2010 Baldrige Award. An independent board of examiners made a strict evaluation of each applicant in seven areas: analysis and knowledge management; customer focus; leadership; measurement, workforce focus; process management; results; and strategic planning. The review process in the evaluation was around 1,000 hours in addition to an on-site visit by the evaluators to clarify and verify application information. The ceremony to honor the recipients is to be held next year in Washington, D.C.
History of the award
The Congress established the Baldrige Award in 1987, naming it after the 26th Secretary of Commerce, Malcolm Baldrige. The award seeks to improve the performance and competitiveness of businesses in the U.S. The original award consisted of three types of organizations, namely, manufacturers, service companies and small businesses. In 1999, the Congress expanded the scope to include health care organizations and education; in 2007, it also comprised nonprofit organizations such as charities, government agencies, and trade and professional associations.
Originally called the “Baldrige National Quality Program," the name was changed in October 2010 to the “Baldrige Performance Excellence Program” to highlight their mission - the dedication to performance excellence.
Strategy Sharing
Information regarding performance excellence strategies of the recipient of the Baldrige Award is intended to be shared with other organizations so that they can tailor the same to suit their own needs. The award recipient’s representatives share their tactics and methods with others.


Best Sellers
You Recently Viewed